FOCUS magazine is published by the Office of Communications and Marketing at Boise State University

Phone (208) 426-1577


Address 1910 University Drive, Boise, ID 83725-1030

Address changes
Send changes (with address label if possible) to the Boise State Alumni Office, 910 University Drive, Boise, ID 83725-1035, or by email to

If you receive duplicate copies of the magazine, please notify the Alumni Office at the above address. Friends of the university who wish to receive FOCUS may do so by submitting their names and addresses to the Alumni Office.


Board of Trustees

President: Don Soltman

Vice President: Emma Atchley

Secretary: Dr. Bill Goesling

Superintendent of Public Instruction: Sherri Ybarra

Trustee: David Hill

Trustee: Richard Westerberg

Trustee: Debbie Critchfield


Boise State University

Boise State President: Dr. Bob Kustra
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs: Dr. Martin Schimpf
Vice President for Finance and Administration: Stacy Pearson (MPA ’85)
Vice President for Student Affairs: Dr. Lisa Harris
Vice President for University Advancement: Laura C. Simic
Vice President for Research and Economic Development: Dr. Mark Rudin
Chief Operating Officer: Kevin Satterlee (BS, ’90)
Associate Vice President of Communications and Marketing: Greg Hahn

Editor: Sherry Squires,

Staff writers: Ralph Poore, Kathleen Tuck

Photographers: John Kelly (BA, ’91), Carrie Quinney (BFA, ’02)

Creative Services Manager: Jodie Thiel

Editorial assistant: Heather Calkins

Alumni news: Taylor Allen

Student photography assistants: Wankun Sirichotiyakul, Everett Smith, Patrick Sweeney, Jessica Vargas